Minor Prophets
The Lexham Bible Dictionary
Minor Prophets
Minor Prophets Christians often divide the prophetic books of the Old Testament into Major Prophets and Minor Prophets. The Minor Prophets are known in Jewish tradition as the Book of the Twelve because in ancient times they circulated on a single scroll. They are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah,
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
Minor Prophets
Minor ProphetsThe 12 short prophetic books in the Hebrew canon, Hosea through Malachi.See Book of the Twelve.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Minor Prophets, the
Minor Prophets, the. In the OT the authors of the 12 shorter Prophetic Books, as contrasted with the three Major Prophets—*Isaiah, *Jeremiah, and *Ezekiel. They are *Hosea, *Joel, *Amos, *Obadiah, *Jonah, *Micah, *Nahum, *Habakkuk, *Zephaniah, *Haggai, *Zechariah, and *Malachi, This, the usual order,
Dictionary of Biblical Prophecy and End Times
Minor Prophets
Minor ProphetsThe prophetic books in the Old Testament are often divided into two groups: the Major Prophets and the Minor Prophets. This classification is based solely on length, not on importance. The Minor Prophets are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai,
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
Prophets, List Of
PROPHETS, List of. The Vitae Prophetarum constitute a series of 23 biographies of *prophets in Greek: the four major prophets (the longer of the Lives), the twelve minor prophets in Greek and seven other biblical figures. The author probably came from *Palestine. The book was written in Greek (at times