Book of the Twelve
The Lexham Bible Dictionary
Twelve, Book of the
Twelve, Book of the An ancient term for what is now called the Minor Prophets. Scribes preserved these twelve writings on one scroll.
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
Book of the Twelve
Book of the TwelveAn ancient designation for the OT Minor Prophets that refers to the scribal practice of preserving these 12 prophetic writings on a single scroll. In antiquity, these individual writings were preserved, referenced, reckoned, and received into the canon as a single book.
Dictionary of Biblical Prophecy and End Times
Book of the Twelve
Book of the TwelveAn ancient Jewish scribal practice placed all twelve Minor Prophets (Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi) on one scroll. This scroll was known as “the Book of the Twelve.” Thus, these twelve books were preserved, transmitted,
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets
3.6. Book of the Twelve
3.6. Book of the Twelve. Within the Book of the Twelve Hosea’s presentation of sin is notably dominated by the metaphor of the unfaithfulness of Israel as the wife of Yahweh.Such a metaphor is appropriate in part because of the similarity of the marriage relationship to the covenant relationship. Harlotry
6. The Book of the Twelve (Minor Prophets)
6. The Book of the Twelve (Minor Prophets)The book of Zechariah begins by highlighting the importance of repentance to the message of the prophets (Zech 1:3–4). By referring to the “earlier prophets,” Zechariah 1:4 brings into view the earlier prophets found in the Book of the Twelve, but by citing
Twelve, Book of The
TWELVE, BOOK OF THEThe Book of the Twelve functions as a collection of twelve individual prophetic works and as a single prophetic book. According to the mt, the twelve prophets include *Hosea, *Joel, *Amos, *Obadiah, *Jonah, *Micah, *Nahum, *Habakkuk, *Zephaniah, *Haggai, *Zechariah and *Malachi. The
Twelve, Book of The: History of Interpretation
TWELVE, BOOK OF THE: HISTORY OF INTERPRETATIONFor centuries it was known that the twelve so-called Minor Prophets together formed a single book. This was simply seen as a scribal convention without any implications for the interpretation of the individual writings. However, beginning in the 1990s, the
The New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible, Volumes 1–5
BOOK OF THE TWELVE. The “Book of the Twelve” denotes the collection of books from Hosea to Malachi that comprise the fourth “book” of the Latter Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the Twelve) in the Neviʾim (Prophets). The English names given to this corpus include the Minor Prophets, the Twelve,