Joshua 12:1–24

List of Defeated Kings

12 These are the kings of the land whom the Israelites had defeated and whose territory they tookc over east of the Jordan,d from the Arnone Gorge to Mount Hermon,f including all the eastern side of the Arabah:g

Sihon king of the Amorites, who reigned in Heshbon.h

He ruled from Aroeri on the rim of the Arnon Gorge—from the middle of the gorge—to the Jabbok River,j which is the border of the Ammonites.k This included half of Gilead.l He also ruled over the eastern Arabah from the Sea of Galileea m to the Sea of the Arabah (that is, the Dead Sean), to Beth Jeshimoth,o and then southward below the slopes of Pisgah.p

And the territory of Og king of Bashan,q one of the last of the Rephaites,r who reigned in Ashtaroths and Edrei.

He ruled over Mount Hermon, Salekah,t all of Bashanu to the border of the people of Geshurv and Maakah,w and half of Gileadx to the border of Sihon king of Heshbon.

Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the Israelites conquered them.y And Moses the servant of the Lord gave their land to the Reubenites, the Gadites and the half-tribe of Manasseh to be their possession.z

Here is a list of the kings of the land that Joshua and the Israelites conquered on the west side of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanona to Mount Halak, which rises toward Seir. Joshua gave their lands as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their tribal divisions. The lands included the hill country, the western foothills, the Arabah, the mountain slopes, the wilderness and the Negev.b These were the lands of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. These were the kings:c

the king of Jerichod one

the king of Aie (near Bethelf) one

10 the king of Jerusalemg one

the king of Hebron one

11 the king of Jarmuth one

the king of Lachishh one

12 the king of Egloni one

the king of Gezerj one

13 the king of Debirk one

the king of Geder one

14 the king of Hormahl one

the king of Aradm one

15 the king of Libnahn one

the king of Adullamo one

16 the king of Makkedahp one

the king of Bethelq one

17 the king of Tappuahr one

the king of Hephers one

18 the king of Aphekt one

the king of Lasharon one

19 the king of Madon one

the king of Hazoru one

20 the king of Shimron Meron one

the king of Akshaphv one

21 the king of Taanachw one

the king of Megiddox one

22 the king of Kedeshy one

the king of Jokneamz in Carmela one

23 the king of Dor (in Naphoth Dorb) one

the king of Goyim in Gilgal one

24 the king of Tirzahc one

thirty-one kings in all.d

Read more